What Am I Singing?: Rock-a-Bye Baby

Every night my kids get a lullaby sung to them. I have sung the same ones for months.This evening after singing Rock-a-Bye Baby several times, I listened to the words. Then, I thought, “What AM I singing to these kids”. The lyrics go as follows with my comments bolded.

Rock-a-bye baby, in the treetop

(Why is your baby in a tree? Also, of all the places to rock a baby you choose a tree? How exactly did you get yourself and a BABY in a tree? Are you Tarzan or was this song made for gorillas?)
When the wind blows, the cradle will rock

(I hope you are now seeing the foolishness of your decision. Have you seen the wind blow the leaves off a tree like nothing. The cradle is past rocking. You cradle is swerving.)
When the bough breaks, the cradle will fall

(…really though)
And down will come baby, cradle and all

(Bless that baby’s heart…falling from a tree…and then a cradle falling out the tree on the baby. What were your parents thinking? Someone needs to call DFCS. Your parents are on something.)

Okay, well I hope you have enjoyed the first installment of “What Am I Singing.” I am hoping it becomes a fairly regular posting topic on my blog.

Any Thoughts?

