Advent and Christmas

Advent: a season observed in many Christian churches as a time of expectant waiting and preparation for the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus at Christmas 

In recent years, I have been a sourpuss around Christmas. I adopt a Charlie Brown perspective of the month of December. It is a capitalistic scheme that attempts to rob the pockets of materialistically driven American hoarding mongrels.

Advent. I never heard of this concept until this year. What if I spent this next month awaiting the arrival of Christ like Anna in the temple (Luke 2: 36-38)? This woman was widowed. She was elderly and spent her entire life awaiting and anticipating Christ to come. She didn’t even see him in the glory of His Resurrection, but as a child. A child.

I don’t care what anyone says. Christmas is about Jesus. Traditionally it is about Jesus. Modern day it is about Jesus. It is not about spending time with family. It is not about swapping gifts. It is not even about a meal or a tree or an obese man in a red suit. For the rest of humanity, no matter how politically correct our government or businesses want to become Christmas is about Jesus. I am not diminishing what people do, what I do, but Christmas is not Christmas without Christ. No matter how much that offends you; it is truth. It is not an opinion. It is not a personal stance. It is the purpose. Christmas is a Christian day of remembrance. We remember that the atonement for our sins was born on that day. We remember that a God far greater than all humanity, Creator of all humanity, allowed Himself to become be a part of humanity. His humanity led to my salvation. We I have somehow allowed corporations to prostitute my Lord.

For the time between December 2 to December 25, I am fasting my intense attachment to media. I am cutting back my internet usage to email and blogging. I am whittling my musical preferences to Christian music. In the time I gain, I will be reading the Bible and remembering and preparing to celebrate Christ’s humble arrival. This is an exciting time in my faith.

For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the greatness of his government and peace
there will be no end.
He will reign on David’s throne
and over his kingdom,
establishing and upholding it
with justice and righteousness
from that time on and forever.
The zeal of the Lord Almighty
will accomplish this.

Isaiah 9: 6-7

Any Thoughts?

