Joy by Page CXVI

I have looked for modern versions of hymnals and was recommended this band by an astounding friend. This particular song is one sung often in children’s church. You sing it so mindlessly as a child. Then, I listened to this version which among first glance has a morose tone to it, but to me sounds as if she is singing out with assurance and peace. She sings with the confidence of joy. With that joy comes peace. The song ends with the hymn “It is Well, with My Soul”. How perfect.

I instantly felt a personal connection to this song. I don’t wander around with a smile on my face. I don’t believe for me that indicates joy. However, I have peace. I have overwhelming, unexplained  nonsensical peace. I am confident in the joy bestowed upon me.

This is the best recommendation I have received musically in 2012. Thank you Mr. Rees.

Any Thoughts?

