Unpopular/Uncommon Opinion #1

The older I become the more I notice that I am the weird girl with the “crazy/uncommon/unpopular/unrealistic” opinions. Most of these opinions come from my Biblical beliefs; others come from personal ideals I have of my womanhood. This post will be one of the latter.

Marriage is wonderful. I look forward to one day being married. I don’t think I want to be married in my twenties. I have restructured my views on female singleness. My singleness should not be a desperate cry for marriage. My singleness should be a time of development opportunities to become a woman. In the four months I’ve been a foster parent, I have noticed that there are so many things I want to do while single. I want to go to seminary single. I don’t want to find a boyfriend of a husband. I don’t want to settle down. I want to swell into something totally rad.

I am not opposed to a husband, but I am opposed to trading everything God could do with my singleness prematurely. What in the world can I do with a boyfriend right now. I want have more schooling to complete. I have some missionary work to do. I have places to travel, and lives to aid in restoration. I don’t want to be tied down.

I wonder if this is rude….

Dear future husband, if you are reading this please don’t be offended. Be excited. Know your wife loves Jesus more than you and would rather hold off on meeting you/marrying you to be obedient to Christ. Know my obedience is going to be a blessing for our marriage. Also, I love. I don’t know you, but I definitely love you and have been waiting FOREVER for you…but we will discuss that privately one day.

My goal marriage age is anywhere from 30 to 40. I don’t know, I just have this feeling in my spirit that God wants to do something awesome with my singleness, and I am just open to that right now in my life.

Shrug. Unpopular opinion #1.

Any Thoughts?

