In Contemplation of the Cross

Yet it was the will of the Lord to crush him;
he has put him to grief;
when his soul makes an offering for guilt,
he shall see his offspring; he shall prolong his days;
the will of the Lord shall prosper in his hand.
Out of the anguish of his soul he shall see and be satisfied;
by his knowledge shall the righteous one, my servant,
make many to be accounted righteous,
and he shall bear their iniquities.
Therefore I will divide him a portion with the many,
and he shall divide the spoil with the strong,
because he poured out his soul to death
and was numbered with the transgressors;
yet he bore the sin of many,
and makes intercession for the transgressors.

Isaiah 53: 10-12

Jesus changed the way we, as a world, look at a cross. He was not the first to be crucified, and is not the last. Yet, what for centuries represented complete shame and a painful death, now serves as a symbol of life. The Crossa song by Kate Miner, put this into prospective for me about 4 years ago.

Jesus changed the color of the cross

From the dark of execution

To the Light of Restitution

Jesus changed the color of the cross

Jesus changed the tenor of the cross

From the sound of cold nails driven

To the Song of Men Forgiven

Jesus changed the tenor of the cross

Jesus changed the symbol of the cross

From the language of rejection

To a Sign of Resurrection

Jesus changed the symbol of the cross

YOU have changed the meaning of the cross

Jesus, I just take this time to thank you. You are so revolutionary. In these moments, I just found myself completely lost in Your humility and love for me. I cannot contemplate the cross. I cannot fathom all the occurred that day. I read the scripture and still I’m at a loss. I am so unworthy. I am not good enough. I can heap up my good deeds, but all of that is nothing. It is all nothing. You are the One and Only. You are my One and Only. You are the One and Only Way; You are the One and Only Truth; You are the One and Only Life. Jesus, You are my everything.

Thank You, Jesus.

Solus Christus

 

Any Thoughts?

