White Trash Christmas Party

I have no qualms about wearing clothes other people have worn, especially if they are stupendously discounted. This is the reason I am completely drawn to thrift shopping. One of the best thrift shops in Houston is Buffalo Exchange. They have unknown brands; they have designer labels. Most importantly to me they have it for cheap. Buffalo Exchange draws in an eclectic crowd of people. However, yesterday I was quite surprised to see four upper middle class women in their forties shopping at thrift shop.

I passed them walking towards the sweater rack. One of the four women holds up a pair of shorts and exclaimed, “These are perfect.” I am nosy so I glanced over and thought, “Those are inappropriate.” I collected nine items I wanted to try on and went into the dressing room. The four women were also trying on their future purchases. From my room one of them gasps, “That outfit is spot on…” Again I’m nosy, especially when it comes to people putting great outfits together, I peek out of the curtain to catch a glimpse of said outfit. As my eyes lock in on it, the women finishes her sentence, “…for the WHITE TRASH CHRISTMAS PARTY!” I could not even imagine. I’m not white, but I was offended.

Blame it on the ridiculous amount of social documentaries I’ve been watching. Perhaps, it is my maturing views on race and culture and poverty and their intersecting points. But, that these women would throw a Christmas party and the theme is white trash is jaw dropping. Let’s be honest though, if twenty years younger these would be the same white female college students throwing racially themed sorority parties.

I think what gets me the most in all of this. Is that they are acknowledging that they describe people as trash and in turn attempt to mock them. This described white trash, do you think that they dress in the manner they do by choice? Even if people in poverty had access to name brands do you think for a second they would be able to afford them? But let’s be real here, America has a culture where we ascribe value to people based on how they look, not on the contents of their character. We are the most shallow nation in the world. Then we go to the larger issue of describing people as trash. Let’s look at genocides in history. They all began with the notion that groups of people should be valued as lesser than human because of some non-sensible opinion-based notion. People have been described as rats, cockroaches, scum, dirt, insects, and inadvertently trash. And because enough people saw them this way they were treated this way. Eventually, they were massacred. American government don’t think of yourself as too high and mighty. Ignoring the historical mistakes of slavery and racially motivated incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War 2, we treat our poorest like trash. By binding them with a paper pushing system rather than creating avenues for people in the lowest rungs to both be productive and be supported. Our nation kills our poor by depriving them.

You know it is not that I hate America. It is not even about disliking these women. I just have a problem with labeling people as trash when it is an issue of poverty.

Any Thoughts?

