Every Idle Word

What if I thought more before I spoke…or was intentionally silent when I should have spoke? What if I just did the right thing outside of social norms and communal hierarchies? What if I was both kind and honest? Why can’t I be kind and honest? What if when I confronted a friend it was out of love and not out of my love for being right? What if before I began a rant, I thought? What if I simply thought for 15 seconds before I responded? What if I evaluated if my response was going to be helpful or hurtful, uplifting or overbearing, sincere or sarcastic, honest or exaggeration? What if every time I spoke I took captive every idle word and release all purposeful ones?

For Theological and Psychological Foundations, I have to conduct an Application Project where I change a personal behavior. I have a choice of anything. I thought about eating habits, but it didn’t seem very purposeful. Daily, I war with the conviction over the things I say. Not because I say things that are extremely hurtful, but because I say things that don’t need to be said. Or I say nothing, when I could break the tension. And it kills me. I say things to people (and honestly about people) completely forgetting their inherent intrinsic value endowed by a Masterful Creator.

So, what if I took control of every idle word? What would that look like? Honestly, I don’t know, but I will in 8 weeks.

A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things. But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.

Matthew 12: 35-37

2 comments

  1. article is quite interesting and hopefully true happiness rays began to warm the hearts of us all, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Any Thoughts?

