My List of Unanswered Man-Related Questions

This weekend, I went on a singles retreat. It was coed and amazing. I feel an overwhelming sense of peace and joy. I had a great amount of alone time with God. I feel amazingly bonded to my class. I mean, I love them. We have our stuff to work through, but we are walking in life and God’s truth together. We love Jesus intently and intensely. While, we are not perfect, I can say that the other singles in my life are seeking God. In all this amazingness there is one thing that was a bit lackluster.

There was a breakout session. This was an all women’s session lead by a panel of men. The men simply answered women’s questions about what men think. I was blessed enough to have a one-on-one with the leader of the session prior to it beginning. He told me, I had good questions and I should come and ask some more. So, I took some times to sit and think of GOOD questions. I wrote them down and turned them in and none of them were answered. We actually spent most of the session discussing setting boundaries with men. Which is fine, but as a psychologist I am ACTUALLY interested in what men think. So, I find my lack of knowledge completely unsatisfying. So, I am going to write my questions down here and I would love for some God-loving, God-fearing, Christian men (I’m not to exclude other men, but as a Christian woman, I want to work on navigating relationships with Christian men better) to answer these for me. Feel free to comment on this post or write me a message on Facebook. In fact, I will even include my email address if you would prefer that (tfakande@yahoo.com).

  1. Ephesians 5:22-24 instructs wives to submit to their husbands. What do you assume that means? How do you think women see this instruction? Could you imagine the fear attached to this instruction?
  2. Ephesians 5: 25-31 instructs men to sacrificially love their wives. What do you assume that means? How do you interpret this instruction? What fears do you have with this?
  3. Are there any differences (if you have noticed) between a woman who has had a positive or negative relationship with her earthly father? What are they?
  4. What do men think of women’s emotional baggage? Are men compelled to fix it or leave it? Do you feel like you have emotional baggage to deal with?
  5. How do women reconcile the feeling of wanting to be desired with also not wanting to lead brothers in Christ astray? How do we lead you astray?
  6. Do you think there is a difference in how we view God based on our gender?
  7. Do you consider physical lust to be a gendered sin?
  8. Is flirting ungodly?
  9. How can women honor you in friendship, and in what ways can you honor your female friends?

Alright gents. Have at it.

One comment

Any Thoughts?

