Day 3: When I Grow Up

Sept 3rd: “When I grow up I want to be….” Feel free to answer as your 5-year-old self or as of now.

This is a funny question as I turn 24, 3 days ago. I don’t really know. Being 24 is the first time I feel legitimately grown. I feel like I need to actually have my life together for some reason. I don’t. I have two books I need to read for seminary that I haven’t even ordered. I am still trying to figure out my living situation. I am goofier than I imagine most days. I have not learned how to communicate to men in a manner that distinguishes whether, I like them, have romantic interest in them, or loathe them. Honestly, it all sounds the same. I haven’t even gotten a grasp on what types of guys I like. My friend says yuppy/preppy, but there is more to it than being a yuppy. I still have not kissed a boy. My spending is not out of control, but it feels like it sometimes. I am paying off a credit card, I am almost halfway done. I eat like a college kid most days.

When, I grow up I want to be…okay.

Growing up is scary. Growing up forces one to break out of comforts and explore the vast difficulties that encompass life. Everyone focuses on coming out on top. I just want to come out. I want to know that I will be okay. Most days, I know I will, but even in adulthood determining that is difficult.

Any Thoughts?

