Weighing In

I finished Whole30 yesterday. I capped it off with my favorite dessert: melon trifecta (watermelon, honeydew, and cantaloupe). Today, I simply attend work meetings and have the rest of the day to myself. When, I wake I will go to the gym, where I will be able to weigh myself….and I don’t know why, but that thought scares me.

Thanksgiving, after months of a poor girls diet, I stepped on the scale and weighed more than I ever had. Two hundred and sixty-five pounds. Instantly, I hated every pound of myself. I didn’t want to look at myself. I couldn’t find anything lovely about me. My face was hideous. My body horrendous. My esteem demolished. Every insult hurled at me about my looks resurfaced. Fat. Ugly. Cow. Behemoth. I clearly saw the faces of all the boys and girls who made me feel so small. I began believing that my weight was the reason no man was interested in me. No one wants to date a fat girl. I remember telling that to myself as a teenager. I told myself that yesterday.

I am scared to step on that scale, because I know that a massive part of me still places such deep value on that number. My beauty is in that number. My value is in that number. My hope is in that number. I don’t even know what that number is. There was no set amount of pound I desired to lose. All I know is that a number dictates so much of how I feel about myself and I hate it. I really do hate it. I hate that a decade past adolescence, I still have similar fears. I hate that I believe no one wants to date me because I’m fat and because I’m fat, I’m unattractive. I know this massive body positive movement going on, but even if I am positive about my body it does not mean I am perceived to be more attractive. Most of all, I despise that I work with teenage girls and still struggle with this. The young women, I serve, are so beautiful. It is easy to see their loveliness, but so hard to see my own…..

This is an area where I needs God’s grace. Because ultimately, I choose to surrender my worth. I choose to operate from a lie…even if feels true because of my empty relationship history.

God, silence all these voices. Silence me. Remind me my worth, that it was ordained before my birth and that is has nothing to do or say. When, I am slim or weigh 310 pound remind me that my worth is not assigned by man, but by God. You make me worthy.

Today, I step on a scale and pray all I see is a number.

3 comments

  1. Tosin, I guess it is normal, that you feel this way. Society doesn’t put an age barrier to stop acting like weight is what makes people pretty, worth it, or valuable. It is a social sickness and it can drive people crazy. I see my mom and my sister, and the same thing is going on in their minds. You are easily one of the most amazing persons that I have met and feel you are worth so much more that what you weight. I pray God to help you put up with this insane pressure that society has forced you to bare with, and makes you see how wonderful you are.
    You made whole 30! That is amazing with all the things that are prohibited and stuff! Feel proud and happy to say that. Even if that number doesn’t change much it is a start and proves you can do anything you commit to.
    Weight shouldn’t mean your worth or your beauty, cause it is not. You are beautiful and the happiness and loving you share with everyone around you adds up to it. If there is any reason to care about weight it should be because of health, and like you once said, to be stronger. But you are so much more than that. Open your eyes and embrace the greatness in you.
    Love you friend. 🙂

    1. I hope you know that I love you and that was by far the most encouraging response. I will probably print this out and place it somewhere in my room. I don’t know if this sounds stupid, but hearing men state that this pressure we put ourselves under is stupid makes me feel hopeful.

Any Thoughts?

