Music Monday: Be Exalted by Watoto Children’s Choir

Confession: I typically hate the sound of children singing.

They never know the lyrics nor can they carry a tune. So, they make up notes and words. It drives me nuts. Weirdly, I am a fan of Kidz Bop. Those kids have stellar voices and their harmonies are superb. Unfortunately, Kidz Bop kids only sing popular music. And the Christian music version of Kidz Bop-Worship Jamz-runs into the same issue.

Then there is the Watoto Children’s Choir.

From the Watoto Church in Kampala, Uganda, the Watoto Children’s Choir worships Jesus. The simple lyrics to their song remind me of Nigerian Hymnals. Redundant as a child, but speak profound truth as an adult. The beats push me not to simply worship with my heart, but to engage my body in it as well. There are several instances where mid-run this song plays and I’m dancing. 

If you are a parent seeking to grow your child in a love for God and breed in them a desire to worship, I recommend downloading the Oh What Love album by the Watoto Children’s Choir.

Finally, as I hear the voice of children lift us Jesus. It reminds me: I am His child. Like a child, He calls me to delight in Him, to depend on Him, to run to Him, to seek Him, to love Him, to trust Him, and to simply be with Him.

 

Any Thoughts?

