2017 Resolutions

Typically, I don’t make resolutions. A yearlong commitment to anything seems a bit drastic. However, the previous statement is just well crafted coding for my personal laziness and desire for a lack of accountability. So here are my 2017 Resolutions.

  1. To have a more consistent view of God.
    • When life is good my perspective on God and His character is fantastic. It is easy to see Him as benevolent and wondrous. This trickles down to how I interpret my life and others. So my interactions with God, self, and others are good.
    • When life is bad my perspective on God and His character gets gross. It is harder to see Him as benevolent and wondrous. My interpretation of self becomes exaggerated and my concern for others stems from pride. My interactions with God, self, and others are not beneficial and unhealthy.
    • If, I can learn to have a more consistent view of God in both good and bad situations, it will alter the way I interpret my life and interactions with others in a positive and sustaining manner. Which will in turn make life less about the general peril and more about a vaster narrative in which, I honestly play a smaller, but meaningful roles.
  2. Read through the Pentateuch and the Prophets
    • In Matthew 5, Jesus makes this huge claim to fulfill the Law and the Prophets. He does it, obviously. I just don’t know all the details of what He meant. So, I will be going through the following books over the course of 2017: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.
    • My hope is this: If I can understand the Law and Prophets, I can understand the character of the Messianic King Israel was waiting for and in turn understand the character of the Messianic King, who will return.
  3. Create things that are true.
    • This year, I want to write blogs and music and paint. It is easy to obsess about whether or not it is good or bad art. Which can be subjective. Rather, I want to create things that are true and reflect truth.
    • If I can create things that reflect truth, than I have made art that I consider good.

I think that is enough. Here’s to 2017!

Any Thoughts?

